RSS

The Versatile Blogger Award..

19 Jul

Okay, the entry from earlier today mentioned this award. While I don’t think I quite have the 15 blogs to recommend just yet, I will go ahead and do this.

To start, I was nominated by Chris who writes Introspections During Quiet Time. I started reading his blog after seeing it in the “Freshly Pressed” section of Word Press. The name of his blog grabbed my interest, and I read a few entries. Chris has a great voice and connects to a reader in the way a couple of friends would talk.  And yes, his blog’s name is quite accurate to his posts. 

The Rules are:

1. Add the award to your blog
2. Thank the blogger who gave it to you and include a link to their blog.
3. Mention 7 random things about yourself.
4. List the rules.
5. Give the award to 15 or more bloggers.

So, while I’ve done the first two, next we get to the 7 random things about myself. This should be interesting. I was the queen of random thoughts back in the day. Let’s see if I can make some more magic today.

1. I used to re-enact for the American Civil War time period. My father and brother participated in a regiment that would go to Civil War events and re-enact battles. My mother and I had dresses to wear to complement their participation. So, yes, I’ve worn a hoop skirt ,and yes, it’s very annoying to try to move around in it.

2. If I could go back and re-do my college career, I would probably end up in the anthropology/archaeology disciplines. Don’t get me wrong. I love my reading and my writing, but I do regret not taking a more in depth study of those disciplines.

3. I’m a Gemini born in the year of the Monkey. Look up both astrology descriptions and that might describe why I’m all over the place sometimes.

4. Anytime a website asks what my hero is or what inspires me, I always give the answer of my sister. She’s mentally and physically handicapped, but she’s the strongest, most defiant person I know. She has defied doctor’s expectations and won the hearts of multiple people within moments of meeting her. Every time I feel the “woe is me” feeling, I think about her and realize that I’ve actually had it pretty easy. It certainly changes my tune.

5. As a kid, I always thought I would own a restaurant. Why? I don’t know. I never cooked. Just always thought it.

6. Some of my favorite moments of the day are the ones that come just before I fall asleep. My mind may or may not be settling down, but the thoughts that sit there are some that have guided me into the beliefs I hold now. There’s something about feeling your body relax, listening to your own breathing, and letting the images in your head just play. Especially when they lead into the most amazing dreams.

7. I used to tell people that I am psychic all the time. It’s uncanny the times I’ve been right and the experiences I’ve had that relate to paranormal things. This is probably why the town of Gettysburg, PA is my second home. So, I love the paranormal. I just don’t write about it much anymore. Too much judgement and too much in the way of charlatans.

Alright, now onto the blogs I recommend. Like my prior entry said, I’m new to the following blogs thing. So, I’m doing my best.

Check out:

1. The above blog that recommended me. No joke. It’s easy to follow and pretty honest in its revelation. Jump into it!

2. Unsuccessful Twentysomething . First of all, I like quirky titles. Secondly, I just love this writer’s take on things. There’s an unblemished honesty in what is said, and I respect that.

3. Unsweetened Tea   Written by a childhood friend of mine that I reconnected with through the miracles of the site, Facebook, I find myself having even more in common with her thoughts now than when we were kids.  I find her writing refreshing. She, unlike me, is unabashed in how she comes across and doesn’t really care what you think.

4. Dating Dramas  I find if I look at what blogs the people whose blogs I follow follow (now there’s a mouthful!), I tend to find even more things I can relate to. Several on this list came from such an adventure. This is a very honest, tongue-in-cheek look at the modern world of dating. It’s also hilarious (and maybe a little sad, too) to see what you have to look forward to when it comes to joining dating websites. Wonderful, easy to read voice.

5. Upon Reflection  One of my writing friends, I’ve known the writer for a decade now. I would buy anything of his I could ever find in print, and I promise to do so once he achieves his publishing dream. One of my best friends, and someone who always pushes, supports, and even enjoys some of my writing, I would be remiss to leave him off.

6. Preble Road Crew  The writer of this blog is a friend I made in college. She’s an amazingly candid writer, and always has been. She writes mostly about life as a young, new mother, and it comes complete with amazing pictures of her daughter, significant other, and their pack of dogs. Her realism and honesty is wonderful.

7. Attacked By Heart For this one, I linked to a specific post because I identified with the post so much I followed immediately. Sometimes, you find someone who writes exactly what you’ve felt or want to write, and they do it so well you realize you don’t want to try. This is one of those entries.

8. black coffee, cigarettes, and romanticism Can’t do much more to attract my attention than have an image that mentions Sylvia Plath on your blog. The writer puts this blog firmly in the writing and rambling category, and that’s okay by me. While I try to stay focused in my blogs now, I really understand the value of just doing a thought dump and letting whatever’s sitting inside out and free.

So, I made it more than halfway through the required 15. I’m sure I’ll add more to my list the longer I explore the world of blogs. But, give these links a perusal and if you find something to like, I’m happy to help fellow bloggers find some new followers. If not, no sweat.

Thanks again for the nomination, and I will try my best to remain versatile. After all, I just think that’s another way to say random, and random’s fine in my book!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 07/19/2012 in blogging

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
